Athena: Grey-Eyed Goddess

Athena: Grey-Eyed GoddessAthena: Grey-Eyed Goddess by George O'Connor
Published by: Macmillan
Release Date: 13 April 2010
Pages: 80
Genres: Graphic Novel
Recommended For: Grades 5-9
Submitted by: Renata Sancken

 

How many of you guys have read any of the Percy Jackson books? Or seen the movies? I don’t know about you guys, but my favorite character from Percy Jackson is Annabeth. And do you guys know who Annabeth’s mom is?

Right, Athena. You guys probably already know a lot about Athena, but I bet George O’Connor’s book Athena: Grey-Eyed Goddess still has some cool stories to teach you.

For example, you’ve probably heard Athena called Pallas Athena. But do you know where that name comes from? It turns out not even the Greeks are sure, but O’Connor tells two stories of where her name might come from. In one story, Athena and her friend Pallas, a granddaughter of Poseidon, were competing in an exhibition. In order to help his daughter win, Zeus distracted Pallas, and she fell on Athena’s spear and died. Athena took Pallas’s name to remember her friend.

But maybe Athena took the name Pallas from the leader of the Gigantes, who Mother Earth sent to attack the gods on Olympus. Pallas bragged that Mother Earth had made it so no one could pierce his skin. Athena, in her wisdom, stabbed Pallas in the eye and brought him down. Athena took his impenetrable skin and added it to her aegis cloak. [when booktalking I show the art of this]

George O’Connor is writing a whole series of graphic novels about the 12 main gods and goddess of Greek mythology. So far there are seven books in the series, including this one, Athena: Grey-Eyed Goddess. These are all great, exciting reads for fans of Percy Jackson, Greek mythology purists, and anyone looking for a story about a goddess who kicks butt.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *