Guest Review: Don’t Look Back by Jennifer Armentrout

Guest Review: Don’t Look Back by Jennifer ArmentroutDon't Look Back by Jennifer Armentrout
Published by: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: 15 May 2014
Pages: 384
Genres: Realistic, Mystery
Recommended For: Grade 6-10
Submitted by: Renata Sancken

 

A police officer found Sam walking alone, barefoot, on a rural road. He asked what her name was, and she realized she didn’t remember. She didn’t remember anything. The officer took her to the hospital and her family told her she’d been missing for four days, but she doesn’t remember anything that happened over those four days. She doesn’t remember her family. She doesn’t remember her best friend Cassie, who has also been missing for four days, but wasn’t found walking along the same road as Sam.

The doctor says Sam’s memories may come back with time, and the police really hope that they will, because she was the last person to see Casse, who is still missing.

But Sam is kind of starting to hope that her memories never come back. It seems like the person who she used to be wasn’t very nice. She’s apparently very popular, but it seems like she and her friends were super mean to everyone, and her cute boyfriend seems pretty mean too.

As flashes start coming back to Sam, she starts finding notes that say things like “Don’t look back. You won’t like what you find.” Sam starts to think that whatever happened to her and Cassie wasn’t an accident, but she’s not sure who she can trust.

Don’t Look Back is an intense thriller. I’d recommend it for fans of April Henry’s books and Pretty Little Liars.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *